Course 358:
ITIL® Certification: Continual Service Improvement

(3 days)


Course Description

This three-day course immerses learners in the overall concepts, processes, policies, and methods associated with the Continual Service Improvement (CSI) phase of the Service Lifecycle. The course covers the management and control of the activities and techniques within the CSI stage, but not the detail of each of the supporting processes. This course is designed using an engaging scenario-based approach to learning the core disciplines of the ITIL best practice and positions the student to successfully complete the associated exam.

Learning Objectives

Upon completion of this course and examination, the learner will gain competencies in:

  • Understanding Service Management as a Practice and CSI principles, purpose, and objective
  • Understanding how all CSI processes interact with other Service Lifecycle processes
  • The sub-processes, activities, methods, and functions used in each of the CSI processes
  • The roles and responsibilities within CSI and the activities and functions to achieve operational excellence
  • How to measure CSI performance
  • Understanding technology and implementation requirements in support of CSI
  • The challenges, critical success factors, and risks related with CSI

Customer Value

This course allows the learner to broaden and deepen their knowledge and understanding of the principles of the ITIL Continual Service Improvement phase. They will then be equipped to contribute effectively to ITIL-based service improvement efforts in their organizations and to contribute to leadership decisions in relation to the management and control of the activities of Continual Service Improvement. Upon successful completion of the associated certification, participants will have 3 credits towards an ITIL Expert certificate.

Who Should Attend

The CSI Lifecycle course will be of interest to:

  • Individuals who have their ITIL Foundation Certificate who want to purse the intermediate and advanced level ITIL certifications
  • Individuals who require a deeper understanding of the CSI stage of the Service Lifecycle and how activities in this Lifecycle stage may be implemented to enhance the quality of IT service management within an organization
  • IT professionals working in or new to a CSI environment who require and understanding of the concepts, processes, functions, and activities involved
  • Individuals seeking the ITIL Expert certification in IT Service Management for which this qualification is one of the prerequisite modules
  • Individuals seeking progress towards the ITIL Master in IT Service Management for which the ITIL Expert is a prerequisite
  • A typical role includes (but is not restricted to): CIOs, CTOs, managers, supervisory staff, team leaders, designers, architects, planners, IT consultants, IT audit managers, IT security managers, service test managers, and ITSM trainers


  • Candidates for this course must hold an ITIL Foundation Certificate (holders of Foundation certificate from an earlier version of ITIL; e.g.: earlier ITIL qualifications, must pass the current ITIL Foundation exam before attending this course)
  • There is no minimum requirement but a basic IT literacy and around two years IT experience are highly desirable


Only candidates who have attended a course given by an accredited training provider may sit for the examination. Each examination consists of eight (8) multiple choice, scenario-based questions that will be scored on a gradient. Candidates writing the examination in their first language will have a maximum of 90 minutes to complete it. (Candidates sitting the examination in a language other than their first language have a maximum of 120 minutes and are allowed to use a dictionary.) A grade of 70% or higher is necessary to pass the exam.

Expert Qualification Credits

  • Upon successful passing of the ITIL CSI Lifecycle exam, the student will be recognized with 3 credits in the ITIL qualification scheme
  • Project Management Institute – Professional Development Units (PDUs) = 24

Course Outline

Course introduction

  • Introductions
  • Course Introduction
  • Course Learning Objectives
  • Unique Nature of the Course
  • Course Qualification Scheme
  • Course Agenda and Exam Details
  • Course Agenda
  • ITIL Intermediate Classroom Course
  • ITIL Intermediate Expert Program Course
  • ITIL Intermediate Classroom Blended Course
  • ITIL Intermediate Virtual Classroom Blended Course

Unit 1: Continual Service Improvement

  • 1 Purpose and Objectives
  • 2 Scope
  • 3 Value to the Business
  • 4 Approach to CSI
  • 5 Business Questions for CSI
  • 6 Context of CSI in the ITIL Service Lifecycle
  • 7 Inputs and Outputs of CSI
  • 8 Sample Test Question
  • Summary of Unit 1

Unit 2: Continual Service Improvement Principles

  • 1 Relationship between CSI and Organizational Change
  • 2 Ownership
  • 3 The CSI Register
  • 4 Influence of SLM on CSI
  • 5 Role of Knowledge Management in Improvement Initiatives
  • 6 Importance of the Deming Cycle
  • 7 Effectively Using Various Aspects of Service Measurement
  • 8 Using CSI for Good Governance
  • 9 Frameworks, Models, Standards and Quality Systems
  • 10 Group/Individual Exercise
  • 11 Sample Test Question
  • Summary of Unit 2

Unit 3: The Continual Service Improvement Process

  • 1 Purpose and Objectives
  • 2 Scope
  • 3 Value to the Business
  • 4 Policies, Principles, and Basic Concepts
  • 5 Process Activities, Methods, and Techniques
  • 6 Triggers, Inputs, Outputs, and Interfaces
  • 7 How Other Processes Play a Key Role in the Seven Step Improvement Process
  • 8 Critical Success Factors and Key Performance Indicators
  • 9 Challenges and Risks
  • 10 Group/Individual Exercise
  • 11 Sample Test Question
  • Summary of Unit 3

Unit 4: CSI Methods and Techniques

  • 1 What to Assess and When to Use Assessments
  • 2 Using Gap Analyses to Identify Areas of Improvement
  • 3 Benchmarking
  • 4 Service Measurement
  • 5 Metrics
  • 6 Return on Investment (ROI)
  • 7 Service Reporting
  • 8 Using Availability Management Techniques
  • 9 Using Capacity Management Techniques and Iterative Activities
  • 10 Considering ITSCM Requirements and Risk Management
  • 11 Support from Problem Management
  • 12 Support from Knowledge Management
  • 13 Group/Individual Exercise
  • 14 Sample Test Question
  • Summary of Unit 4

Unit 5: Organizing for CSI

  • 1 Generic Service Owner
  • 2 Generic Process Owner
  • 3 Process Manager
  • 4 Process Practitioner
  • 5 CSI Manager
  • 6 Seven Step Improvement Roles
  • 7 Comparing the CSI Manager Role with Other Roles
  • 8 Using RACI to Define Roles and Responsibilities
  • 9 Sample Test Question
  • Summary of Unit 5

Unit 6: Technology Considerations

  • 1 Introduction
  • 2 ITSM Suites
  • 3 Additional Tools Used in CSI
  • 4 Sample Test Question
  • Summary of Unit 6

Unit 7: Implementing CSI

  • 1 Considerations and Where to Start
  • 2 Role of Governance in CSI
  • 3 Effect of Organizational Change on CSI
  • 4 Communication Strategy and Plan
  • 5 Group/Individual Exercise
  • 6 Sample test Question
  • Summary of Unit 7

Unit 8: Challenges, Critical Success Factors, and Risks

  • 1 Challenges
  • 2 Critical Success Factors
  • 3 Risks
  • 4 Sample Test Question
  • Summary of Unit 8

Unit 9: Exam Preparation Guide

  • 1 Mock Exam 1
  • 2 Mock Exam 2

ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited.

Please Contact Your ROI Representative to Discuss Course Tailoring!